little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

“Life Itself Is Grace”

While I cannot say it like Frederick Buechner can, I’m going to let his voice speak here to what I so deeply feel.  As we are now nearly one week into this new, incredible year — 2014 — (it still makes me gasp, “what?!”), may we not just think about his words, but feel them, embrace them, live them, and welcome them  home to stay in our souls:

“Life Itself Is Grace”

January 1 [yet for every day?]

 Listen to your life.

All moments are key moments.

I discovered that if you really keep your eye peeled to it and your ears open, if you really pay attention to it, even such a limited and limiting life as the one I was living on Rupert Mountain opened up onto extraordinary vistas.  Taking your children to school and kissing your wife goodbye.  Eating lunch with a friend.  Trying to do a decent day’s work.  Hearing the rain patter against the window.  There is no event so commonplace but that God is present within it, always hiddenly, always leaving you room to recognize him or not to recognize him. But all the more fascinatingly because of that, all the more compellingly and hauntingly…. If I were called upon to state in a few words the essence of everything I was trying to say both as a novelist and as a preacher, it would be something like this:  Listen to your lifeSee it for the fathomless mystery that it isIn the boredom and pain of it no less than in the excitement and gladness; touch, taste, smell your way to the holy and hidden heart of it because in the last analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is grace.

(From Listening to Your Life: Daily Meditations with Frederick Buechner)

May we be awake to and patient in the mystery of our lives unfolding, day by grace-filled day.

Amen.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on ““Life Itself Is Grace”

  1. acallison1 on said:

    Oh girl! You speak the language of my heart…

    The mutual loves continue and alas, I am struck by just how much God had gifted to us in one another and especially in our kindred spirits and shared affinities

    This quote… It is music to the ears and food for the soul, is it not?

    It is the quote that lives inside the cover of my journal from 2003…sophomore year from w&l…the year that changed my life in so many ways.

    It is the quote that carried me through seasons (and years) of trying to make sense of my story.

    It is the quote that continues to give me hope for the future and reminds me to pay attention to my life today…

    I am so thankful for your post as a reminder if it and as a reminder to “listen to my life … Because in the end…all moments are key moments… And life itself is G R A C E.”

    Amen, my friend, Amen.

    Ps… Chili on the 17th or 18th sounds like perfection to me. Saturdays are easier for us but we can really do either. You make the call. Also, what shall I bring? A salad? Appetizer? Some GF dessert?

    PPS… Cannot wait to meet your kitty!!!!

    I’ve been thinking all day about how fitting it is that God would give you a little being to care for in this season where he is teaching you so much about how HE loves and cares for YOU. No coincidence there. It was truly meant to be. Also can’t stop thinking about how lucky that sweet little cat is to have you as a mother. She is truly in for a beautiful new life.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • martha on said:

      His GRACE is waking upTODAY!!! thank you, Carter, for a message that must be recognized daily. It may be our last, so we need to be thankful for every moment….good, bad or indifferent. All my everlovin’ love, granmeow-almost

  2. Edith Floyd on said:

    Dearest Carter,

    It has taken me awhile to respond to this I have finally succumbed to the respiratory viruses 😦 — but I SO appreciate this reminder that we all need to have every day. I have been reminding myself that “every moment is a key moment.”

    “Listen to your life” has been a kind of mantra for me ever since an Episcopal priest recommended this book when I was going through some tough times while pregnant with Will. It was my introduction to Buechner.

    Hope you are staying warm and having a wonderful day. I know you are excited about tomorrow’s arrival!!!

    Big hug and much love, Edith

    From: little bit of lagniappe Reply-To: little bit of lagniappe Date: Tuesday, January 7, 2014 8:15 PM To: Edith Jones Subject: [New post] Life Itself Is Grace

    cajuncart posted: “While I cannot say it like Frederick Buechner can, I’m going to let his voice speak here to what I so deeply feel. As we are now nearly one week into this new, incredible year — 2014 — (it still makes me gasp, “what?!”), may we not just think about his”

  3. Love this and love you!

Leave a Reply

