little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

Orchestral landfills

I just read about and watched this moving piece about music springing forth from bits and pieces scraped from a landfill in Paraguay.  It’s a must share and a must view.

This is a masterpiece, and I cannot wait to share this beautiful lesson with my students this upcoming year. May it teach us to be more aware of our own daily waste — our treatment of trash. More importantly, may it compel us to be more aware of, as the video states, our treatment of people…ALL people.

God calls us to…

Bring in the “garbage.”

Make use of the neglected.

Pick up the forgotten.

Love the unloved.

Believe the unbelievable.

And dig our hands deeply into grace.

Amen.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Orchestral landfills

  1. Perry Thomas on said:

    Angelness,

    All I got was a single frame picture. Was/is this a movie? Double clicked and all, but nothing. Is there a link?

    ILYSBB…

    Poppy – – – – –

  2. Perry Thomas on said:

    Never mind… I got it. The link was at the verybottom of your message!

    Poppy – – – – –

  3. Edith Floyd on said:

    Miss Carter,

    This truly IS a masterpiece! We just returned from the beach, and I am loving your last two posts! Thank you, thank you!

    How in the world are you? Busy, busy, I am sure! And where has summer gone? When I look back, I do realize how much we have done, and I have truly tried to be mindful every daybut it still goes too fast. We are savoring these last few days of staying up late and sleeping in 🙂 Now I know that you are a morning gal, so you have no problem with that, and I so envy you. Maybe just a little less time for playing guitar, writing poetry, going on hikes, and generally hanging out. Let us be reminded that summer isn’t officially over until September 21, or at least Labor Day.

    The Will Man turned 14 at the beachhow did that happen?! And Alex is working on college apps. Mama Bird is getting a bit pensive

    Hope you are thriving and feeling ready to be back in the classroom. I’m sure there will be all kinds of excitement next Wednesday, and we’ll all be ready to get back in the groove and fill up the calendar with activities. Still

    I head up to Tennessee to see my Jones peeps this week. One last hurrah before school begins.

    Thank you, dearest Carter, for sharing your wonderful-ness with all of us And I do mean that, because you continue to remind us that the world is full of wonder and beauty, beginning with you!

    Have a happy week, productive but with some good ol’ down time, too. Hope to see you soon!

    With much love, Edith

    From: little bit of lagniappe Reply-To: little bit of lagniappe Date: Sunday, July 28, 2013 11:02 AM To: Edith Jones Subject: [New post] Orchestral landfills

    cajuncart posted: “I just read about and watched this moving piece about music springing forth from bits and pieces scraped from a landfill in Paraguay. It’s a must share and a must view. This is a masterpiece, and I cannot wait to share this beautiful lesson with m”

Leave a Reply

