little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

The “Other” Birthday Celebration…YES!

13 years ago today, thanks to God’s amazing grace, I was spared from a horrific car accident in which I was hit by a MARTA bus.   Thanks be to God, I was driving my 1989 Volvo 240-DL (the Carolina-blue tank named “Bluebird”!), and while it was T-boned and totaled in the accident, all I suffered was unconsciousness, a trip to Atlanta Medical Center, a concussion, and stitches in my head and hand.  Thanks be to God, I am still here.

With tears of joy, I inhale and exhale deep sighs and prayers of gratitude.  These past 13 years — and these past nearly 33 years (eeek!) have been so radiant with God’s love and mercy.  I want to shout to the rooftops and frolic into the great big blue above and sing!

No matter the circumstances of daily living – however heavy they may be, I pray that such rejoicing, such loving would be our hope and our aim each day…

Yes, may we say YES, may we say YES!

YES!

“i thank You God for this most

amazing day;

for the leaping greenly spirits

of trees

and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything

which is natural which is infinite which is

yes”

-e.e. cummings

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

