little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

Plant-based Summer…and Forever…

Thanks to watching a documentary called Forks Over Knives earlier this spring and to reading a myriad of materials from researchers and doctors like T. Colin Campbell, I have changed my diet this summer.  While I feel like I ate fairly doggone healthy before, I have learned so much, and my diet is now primarily plant-based.  I have cut out all dairy (I still eat eggs upon occasion) and all animal meat (except for seafood, which naturally swims in these New Orleans’ born and bred veins!), and I also consume far less processed foods.  Hmmm…I guess I’d call myself a pescatarian with a side of eggs?

I thought I would miss former staples like chicken, turkey, yogurt, and cheese, and while it was an interesting transition at first, I now feel far more energized and alert, and I also feel creative while experimenting and cooking with simple, whole, plant-based foods.

Here are my usual staples that I ADORE and for which I give thanks:

unsweetened almond milk (oh, baby — SO MUCH better than dairy milk and more calcium, too!)

ALL FRUITS!

kale, bok choy, broccoli…hmmm…ALL VEGGIES!

quinoa, sweet potatoes, brown rice

nuts and seeds – walnuts, almonds, sunflower seeds, chia seeds

homemade guacamole, salsa, and hummus (Trader Joe’s 🙂 has some incredible varieties of hummus — of course they do; my current favorites are the edamame and cilantro-jalapeno!)

tofu, lentils, edamame beans, black beans…plain ol’ BEANS, baby (of course you remember that little tune, right?)

herbs and spices like turmeric, cumin, curry (I actually no longer take any ibuprofen like Advil but rather rely on these mamas for their anti-inflammatory properties…not to mention goodies like sauteed GARLIC and ONIONS!)

green tea (Yogi tea is my favorite!)

garden of life protein powder (excellent addition to fruit smoothies)

coconut milk ice cream (So Delicious brand, which is, of course, endorsed by my main man Drew Brees!)

Not only do I feel better in mind, body, and spirit, but this TEDx Talk I just found this morning by T. Colin Campbell also speaks to how we each have a responsibility to take care of our health and how by improving/changing our diet alone, we can help resolve our health care crisis that seems to be swirling out of control:

http://www.forksoverknives.com/t-colin-campbell-gives-tedx-talk-resolving-the-health-care-crisis/?utm_medium=email&utm_source=Newsletter080212

May we be mindful of our choices and EAT to LIVE, not LIVE to EAT.

(Also, how can we better teach our children and our children’s children about proper nutrition so that in their lifetime, our health as a nation and a WORLD improves rather than declines…?)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

