little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

Banana Bread…with a few twists…to make you shout!

For this born and bread New Orleanian and food-lover, I’m flabbergasted at myself.  How am I, nearly a year into this blogging gig, only just now posting my first recipe?  Maybe Gevin’s call to “Season with SWAG” (please see previous post) is rubbing off on me…

Today’s post was actually inspired by a dear friend who, during today’s teacher’s workshop on DISCUSSION (more to blog on THIS delicious nugget!), held up her “tired” banana in the air and declared fervently the need to make banana bread.  Little did she realize that I have been tweaking and playing with banana bread recipes all summer long; thus, a riveting DISCUSSION ensued…

I have been gluten free for nearly two and a half years now and have been playing with a wholly plant-based, dairy-free diet for almost two months (I guess I’m currently a self-described “free-gan” who has freely bent vegan rules to include seafood and eggs only).  Honestly, I don’t miss meat or dairy nearly as much as I thought I would, and this here recipe offers a blissful loaf that will make you forget about the need for sugar, butter, or white/wheat flour.  Additionally, some gluten-free recipes can be a bit complicated, calling for multiple types of flours, starches, and or xanthan gums, but this here, friends, features the plain-but-delicious-jane of banana breads.
Read it and weep, make it and your oven will squeak (and that’s a good thing).  I hope you enjoy it as much as my family and I do (I make it for my mama nearly once a week)!

🙂

Gluten Free and Dairy Free Banana Bread Recipe:  CCT style

Ingredients

2 cups brown rice flour or a simple gluten-free flour blend (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cups mashed, ripe bananas (about 5-6)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup canola oil

(depending on my mood, I add a “little bit of lagniappe” in the form of ground flax seeds, more bananas, and more cinnamon…please feel free to get crazy and experiment.  Also, if your tooth is sweeter than mine, a few doses of agave will hit the spot)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray medium bread pan with nonstick cooking spray and put to the side (feel free to do the same with a muffin pan, which you made need for self-discipline).  Combine and stir together the dry ingredients in a large bowl and make a well in the center.  Add beaten eggs, banana, vanilla, and oil to the center and combine them before folding into the rest of the dry ingredients.  Pour or spoon batter into your bread pan.  Bake for about an hour or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for a few minutes before removing from pan, and then cool loaf on a wire rack before slicing a piece or two…or three…

The bread stays well in the refrigerator for a good while (I wrap it in aluminum foil and ziploc-bag-it to be safe).  I think it tastes delicious cold, but you can also zap in the microwave for 15-20 seconds for heated goodness!

ENJOY and let me know what you think!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread…with a few twists…to make you shout!

  1. Poppy on said:

    I like it best with the flax seeds, Angel! A little healthy boost, methinks!

  2. Yes, sireeeee, Papa Bear! LOVE US THAT FIBER and OMEGA 3s! Other fun additions include blueberries, walnuts, and my good buddy Sarah N. just made it with choc chips this past weekend! Hmm!

Leave a Reply

