little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

Finding and Making Time

Over the weekend, a wise sage and wonderful friend Anne F. sent an article to our small group written by one of my favorite writers and thinkers (who can also pull off dreadlocks like a champ!) – also by the name of Anne:  Anne Lamott.  I usually try to get my hands on anything this passionate, hysterical, and brilliant woman creates, but somehow this poignant piece Time Lost and Found composed in the April 2010 issue of Sunset eluded me.

Her message is something our distracted, multitasking nation needs to hear daily.  I am also including and speaking to myself here, as I feel like at many points she’s nudging specifically, “A-hem, Carter. Did you catch that?  Why don’t you read me again, honey…and again…and yes, why don’t you just print me out and highlight every word like you tell your students NOT to…”

“I know how addictive busyness and mania are,” she suggests, and boy has she nailed a prideful addiction for me.  WHY?  Why do we thrive on drive?  Why do we allow that to define who we are?  We are a culture that currently celebrates our own sick, manic busyness, when what we really need to do is make time for the simple and dig deep for the creative expression of ourselves – the goldmine on which we already sit.

How do you spend your time?

Why?

Listen to the answers that surface and make sure that how you spend your time has purpose…and presence.  As she beautifully states:  “Time is not free — that’s why it’s so precious and worth fighting for.”

At the start of this Holy Week before Easter, Anne F. charged our group to use this article to think more intently about the time we make to spend with God.  What distractions get in the way of this intimacy?  Do those distractions have value?  REAL value? What justifications do we make for our behavior?

I pray that we will resurrect and “fight tooth and nail” to find and make purposeful time — time to use the gifts that God has given us.  Along the way, I pray that we will remember that we are not alone on such driven treadmills (often to nowhere), and we DO have a choice.  Let us take a step off, look around, listen, and truly and deeply live.
For those intrigued by this Anne Lamott character, she just published a new book in March 2012 called Some Assembly Required:  A Journal of My Son’s First Son.

I am chomping at the bit to read it (after The Hunger Games!), but in the meantime I’ll feast on other delicious vittles of wisdom of hers.

“I do not understand the mystery of grace — only that it meets us where we are and does not leave us where it found us.”
Anne Lamott

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

