little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

A Praying Life

This past week, I have started reading a book called A Praying Life by Paul Miller.

I’m hooked, I’m intrigued, I’m challenged, I’m humbled.  I’m thirsty for more.

In an early chapter entitled “Learning to be Helpless” (ah, freedom there already…), Miller talks of prayer as “bringing your helplessness to Jesus.” He then cites Thomas Merton, a 20th century Trappist monk, who offered:

“Prayer is an expression of who we are…

We are a living incompleteness.

We are a gap, an emptiness that calls for fulfillment.”

With Miller’s help and clearly God’s, I’m finally learning to offer up my emptiness and honestly pray rather than just “say prayers.”

Thank you.

GRACE ABOUNDS.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “A Praying Life

  1. cheryl lassiter on said:

    i love this post. we spoke about prayer in disciple on monday and it sounds like this book is a must read =) thank you for always sharing your inspiration with others. love ya dear heart

  2. Cart, this is one of my favorite books! I especially love his idea to put people and prayers on notecards.

    • Mox, this book is transforming…
      in SO many ways, friend. Thanks for reading AND sharing.

    • Moxie,
      I had a little detour with another book, but now that I’m back in A Praying Life (and loving it more and more), I’ve arrived at the part where he puts his family members and prayers for them on cards. LOVE IT.
      Sending up a prayer for you right now, sister!

Leave a Reply

