little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

Unexpected Gifts

Of the many gifts this past week and a half has brought, one of them has been the gift of our beloved Comcast going totally digital in my area.  While this 21st century move may cause many to respond, “’bout time,” it left this limited-basic cable consumer channel-less and therefore TV less.  I do admit that I am not a daily TV-watcher, but I have missed the sports, football Sundays, Jeopardy, holiday movie marathons, and the highly-anticipated chance to watch “Ellen” now that we are on Christmas vacation.

However, without the excess noise, temptation, and mindless, mind-numbing distraction, this “loss” has turned into the greatest gain.  In the past week and a half, I have been able to relish silence, candle-lit stillness, my favorite classical Christmas music, meditation, yoga, and reading at any and every spare moment. HUZZAH!  That which I always SAY I want to do every day, I’ve actually made time for and cherished…CHERISHED!

The book I just finished yesterday was Drew Brees’ (does he have a clone?) memoir Coming Back Stronger, which he completed in 2010 after the New Orleans Saints’ first Superbowl victory.  Although my parents gave it to me for my birthday last year, picking it up this year seemed serendipitous and timed perfectly; God knew that I needed the encouragement after a year of  much injury, transition, and the growing pains that come with it.

My boy Drew writes honestly and passionately about the opportunity that springs from adversity, and he speaks to his faith and the importance of trusting in God in all circumstances, as he had to come back multiple times from both knee and shoulder injuries.  What captivated me most was how he beautifully wove his story with the rebirth of the city of New Orleans, my hometown.  While many saw post-Katrina New Orleans as a landfill of hopelessness, Drew and his wife saw it has a seedbed of hope.

Overall, Coming Back Stronger was a fast and gripping read that left me inspired, hopeful, thankful, and yes, hungry for my hometown.  While a potentially odd read for the preparation of Christmas, I’d argue it was perfect.  In the midst of struggle, we are people of hope, and that hope we long for and need is on the horizon; JOY TO THE WORLD!

I wish you all a beautiful Christmas and the most peaceful of holidays.  Perhaps, you, too will be able to enjoy the freedom from cable and all the possibilities it can bring!

p.s. you can find out more about Drew and the charity that he and his wife began called the Brees Dream Foundation here.

p.p.s. If you can find another Drew Brees out there, you’ve found MY dream.  🙂

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Unexpected Gifts

  1. This is Cartie, heart and soul!!! I love you, precious Angel, and will pick you up tomorrow at 10 ’til 11:00 for a long overdue PAPA/BABY GIRL lunch at Urban PL8!!! Mizpah!!!

Leave a Reply

