little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

3-day Experience: Gratitude and Grace

 

Beautiful family and friends,

I wish I could even begin to express the power of last weekend’s Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure, as it’s taken me all week to even attempt to do so. Alongside over 2000 walkers and 400 crew, my mama and I cherished every single step of our 60+ mile journey through the streets of Atlanta, starting in Stone Mountain early Friday morn and ending with the closing ceremonies at Turner Field (truly the home of the BRAVE) on Sunday evening.

Together with our incredible Team “Celebrate Life,” we battled hills, cheered until we were hoarse, met new friends, shared pieces of ourselves, picked each other up when we were hurting, and kept the light of life shining, believing every step of the way in the cause that bound us together. I cannot give adequate description to the stories of strength I learned about and heard, nor the faces of courage I met along our route, but in essence, the weekend was about GRATITUDE, THANKSGIVING, and amazing GRACE.

I learned most of this from my beautiful mama, whose hand I held for the majority of the walk. Her selfless support of others and willingness to tackle anything, even at the risk of hurting herself amazes me daily, and just when I don’t think I could possibly love her any more than I already do, my heart bursts open again. Daily, I am honored to be her daughter, and daily I celebrate the life she has lived and the light she has shared. As we approach her 5-years-in-remission mark in December, I pray that we’ll not take a single day – a single breath for granted.

WE LOVE.

WE HOPE.

WE HAVE FAITH.

WE GIVE THANKS.

Even in the midst of hurting knees, sore feet, broken wrists (again, my heroic mama!), and raging, tight hip muscles, our team battled together, kept the faith, and continued to fight, just like the countless folks diagnosed with cancer each day. In addition to enjoying the support of a team, I also had the great fortune of seeing and sharing time with a dear friend from Virginia, who, with her wonderful sisters and niece, served on the crew, and her smiling face and daily doses of encouragement added a special flavor to this first 3-day experience.

Because of your generosity and support, I am humbled to share with you the news that I raised over $4000, and as a 6-person team, we raised over $20,000. In all, this year’s Atlanta 3-day raised over 6.5 million dollars to make a committed effort to stamp out breast cancer forever (gasp)!

While these numbers flabbergast me, your incredible and equally generous prayers, loyal support, encouraging words, and surging cheers of HOPE all along the way lift me up as well. You were indeed with us in every step we took in our beloved, worn sneakers, which we will save and savor forever.

Thank you again for your incredible demonstration of love throughout this recent 3-day experience. We are already prayerfully looking forward to signing up for next year and are determined to be a part of this incredible experience — this worthy cause — for as long as possible! AMEN!

Maybe next year, you’d like to join us…?!

With great love and deep gratitude…

Team Celebrate Life!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

