little bit of lagniappe

reflecting on everyday grace

“Nick of Time”

Bonnie Raitt’s “Nick of Time” has always been one of my favorite songs. When it first came out in the early 90s, this easily self-entertained only child would often have my barbies perform it in concert (I’d even stretch out a cotton ball to put in my red-headed barbie’s hair to complete that authentic ‘Bonnie Raitt look’), and I would also sing it from the top of my lungs with my head phones plugged in while playing Zelda or Mario Brothers (old-school Nintendo, baby).  I guess my love for Blues and Adult “Easy Listening”music has deep roots…

Since my CD player no longer works in my beloved car Geena, the good ol’ cassette-tape version of this album is a frequent remedy when radio advertisements clog the air space, and I just need my music.  And now, as a 30-something, her words in this particular song transcend the power that I felt even as a 12 year old, jammin’ to her soulful licks.  It’s verse 2 and the chorus that follows that especially get me:

Verse 2
I see my folks, they’re getting old, I watch their bodies change…
I know they see the same in me, And it makes us both feel strange…
No matter how you tell yourself, It’s what we all go through…
Those lines are pretty hard to take when they’re staring back at you.
Scared you’ll run out of time.

Chorus
When did the choices get so hard?
With so much more at stake.
Life gets mighty precious when there’s less of it to waste.
Hummmm…Hmmmmm…Scared to run out of time.

Maybe I felt the depth of these words as I washed my mama’s hair in the kitchen sink yesterday morning before church.  Having broken her dominant wrist/hand in two places on Thursday night during her training walk, I had the joy of helping Pops take extra special care of her and their house-hold duties this weekend.  While I always love helping them in any way I can, yesterday’s hair-washing was unspeakably special.

How many times has she done that for me?

How many ways has she demonstrated her unconditional love for me these past 31 years I’ve been blessed to be her daughter?

Now, I was the one who got to ask if she was comfortable enough.  I was the one who got to hold back her hair and shield  her eyes from the soap.

I got to take care of mama.

And so, on the heels of this role-reversing waltz between mother and daughter, my mind and heart, as they often do these days, have wandered and wondered and marveled at the crossroads, challenges, and triumphs of life – the journey thus far.  I know I won’t have my precious parents forever, but I am not “scared to run out of time.”  I pray that each day I’m thankful for the time I do have — thankful for the gift of waking up to another day of loving…

thankful that I do know LOVE, “Love in the Nick of Time.”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on ““Nick of Time”

  1. Nancy Smith-Mather on said:

    Hey Cart, what a beautiful moment. Thank you for letting me in on it. Nancy

Leave a Reply

